Former Bb Pilipinas runner-up Laura Lehmann was crowned Miss World Philippines 2017 at a glittering finals night held Sunday, September 3, at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

She bested 34 other candidates for the right to represent the Philippines at the 2017 Miss World finals to be held in November in China.

Asked during the question-and-answer portion what she would say to non-believers of beauty pageants, the 23-year-old sports TV host and model said: “To anyone who doesn’t believe in pageants, I would ask them to take a look at the girls tonight because we have lawyers, architects, women of substance who are here not only because of what they look like but because of what’s in their hearts, what’s in their mind, and because what they’ve brought forth beauty with a purpose. They’re here fighting to represent the Philippines and become the best version of the Filipina. And for me that’s only something to celebrate, not protest.”

Laura Victoria Lehmann receives the crown from last year’s winner and Missosology Timeless Beauty Catriona Gray.

Actress Teresita Ssen “Winwyn” Marquez, meanwhile, was crowned Reina Hispanoamericana Filipinas 2017. She will compete at the 2017 Reina Hispanoamericana pageant in Bolivia in November.

Cynthia Thomalla from Cebu won the Miss Eco Philippines 2017 crown. She will represent the country at the 2018 Miss Eco International pageant in Egypt.

The Miss Multinational Philippines 2017 title went to Sofia Senoron. She will travel to India for the 2017 Miss Multinational pageant.

Glyssa Perez and Zara Carbonell were first and second princesses, respectively.

Completing the Top 10 finalists were Shiela Reyes, Jona Sweett, Cristina Coloma and Janela Cuaton. The rest of the Top 15 were Ella Lubag, Gabriela Ortega, KC Cajandig, Chelsea Manalo and Noelle Uy-Tuazon.

Miss World Philippines 2017 winners

The fast track winners, who earned automatic slots in the Top 15, were:
Sports & Miss Fila: Glyssa Perez
Talent: Winwyn Marquez
Beach Beauty & Miss Bench Body: Winwyn Marquez
Top Model: Cynthia Thomalla
Multimedia: Laura Lehmann

The winners of special awards were:
Miss Photogenic: Cynthia Thomalla
Best in Long Gown: Cynthia Thomalla
Miss BYS Philippines: Laura Lehman
Miss Blue Water Day Spa: Cynthia Thomalla
Best Skin: Janela Joy Cuaton
Miss Cosmo Skin: Laura Lehmann
Miss Savoy Hotel Boracay: Winwyn Marquez
Zalora People’s Choice: Kathryn Cudiamat

Miss World 2016 Stephanie Del Valle sat as one of the judges. Miss World Organisation chairman Julia Morley, who was also in attendance, was given a plaque of appreciation. Text by Drew Francisco, Photos by Bong Tan /Missosology.Org